Skip to main content
Indiana University Bloomington

Woodburn Hall facilities


Arthur Bentley Chair
This gift is to be used for general support of chair within Department to support research, manuscript preparation, graduate research assistance and other requirements of an active scholar and teacher.

Warner O. Chapman Professorship
This gift is used to support professorship in the Department of Political Science to a tenured faculty member with outstanding teaching credentials who exhibits a commitment to students as individuals. The Warner O. Chapman Award is also use to support graduate student summer fellowships. This past summer three students received $4,000 summer fellowships from these funds.

Dr. J. Bryan Collester Scholarship
This scholarship was established in 2007 by Dr. Janet Sue Collester (IU Ph.D in History 1977) in memory of her late brother Dr. J. Bryan Collester, who received his MA from Indiana University Political Science in 1963 and his Ph.D in 1969. Dr. Collester received teaching awards and was author of numerous article and publications during his academic career. The Collester scholarship supports undergraduate incoming freshmen students majoring in Political Science and is renewable from year-to-year to students making sufficient progress toward his/her baccalaureate degree.

John V. Gillespie Memorial Scholarship
John Gillespie is a former member of IU Political Science. Recipients of this scholarship shall be outstanding graduate students in Political Science who have demonstrated superior analytical abilities and research skills in positive political theory, mathematical modeling, or the use of quantitative methods to the study of political phenomena.

Katharine C. Greenough Award Fund (Supports Best Dissertation)
This award is to be used to support awards, prizes or fellowships to graduate students in the Department of Political Science and recognize academic achievement in scholarly endeavors and encourage and stimulate involvement within the fields of politics and government. Katharine Greenough was a prominent civic leader and women’s rights advocate for more than 50 years. An English major, she graduate cum laude from Indiana University and was one of the first members of the university’s Phi Beta Kappa chapter. Katherine Greenough held several leadership positions in the Indiana League of Women voters and in the national organizations. She conducted numerous public forums on improving local government through reorganization and tax reform, and at its 35th anniversary convention in 1956 the National League of Women Voters honored her as one of its pioneer leaders.

John P. Lovell Award
This award was set up by Joanne Lovell in memory of her late husband, John P. Lovell, Professor Emeritus of Political Science at Indiana University and founding director of the Indiana Center on Global Change and World Peace, devoted more than 35 years to a distinguished career as scholar, teacher and administrator. The award is to support graduate student travel and stipends with preference given to graduate students with an interest in international relations or international studies.

Benjamin A. Most Memorial Fund
The Benjamin A. Most Award was established in 1986 to support research and any related research collection in the area of international relations of a Bloomington campus graduate student in the Department of Political Science. Benjamin A. Most received his Ph.D in Political Science from Indiana University in 1979 and went on to teach and research at the University of Iowa. Benjamin was a recognized expert in the study of war and international conflict, especially in the application of geo-political models and approaches to war, the study of boarders and the analysis of the diffusion of violent conflict. His interests and expertise also ranged across the study of public policy and the policy process, comparative politics and methodology, having published articles on authoritarianism, public policy, and resource allocation in Latin America. At the time of his untimely death on November 10, 1986, he was only beginning to make his mark on the study of international relations, policy and methodology. This memorial fund was established at the request of his family.

Stephen R. Patton Scholarship
Steve and Linda Patton established the Stephen R. Patton Scholarship in 1999 to support undergraduates in the Department of Political Science who demonstrate meritorious academic record. Stephen Patton received his BA in Political Science from Indiana University in 1975 and went on to earn his law degree in 1978 from Georgetown University. Stephen Patton is executive officer in the Law Firm of Kirkland & Ellis in Chicago.

The Philip Donges Snodgrass, Esq. Memorial Scholarship
The Philip Donges Snodgrass, Esq. Memorial Scholarship was established by Jeffrey, Patricia, Grace and Hope Snodgrass to honor the memory of their son and brother, Philip Donges Snodgrass, Esq. Philip earned his B.A. from IUB in Political Science and History with minors in Spanish, Dutch, and Western European studies, graduating with honors in 2009. He attended Northeastern Law School and earned a J.D. in 2012. Upon graduation from Northeastern, Philip served as Assistant General Counsel at the National Federation of Federal Employees in Washington, D.C. Philip continued his education as a Masters of Laws candidate in International Economic and Business Law at Georgetown Law, publishing his first scholarly article on aviation law posthumously in the spring of 2015.

Philip lived as a proud Marylander and enthusiastic Baltimore Ravens fan, an active Democrat, and a Son of the American Revolution. He was an avid scholar in politics and current affairs, as well as Dutch and Spanish languages and cultures. The Snodgrasses wish to honor Philip’s memory supporting those students who will demonstrate his same passion for learning.