Skip to main content
Indiana University Bloomington

Woodburn Hall facilities

Awards & Scholarships

The Department of Political Science offers several awards and activities related to Political Science research. The faculty selects the winners of scholarships and awards on the basis of academic performance and specific criteria for each award.

Spring 2016 Award Recipients click here »

Scholarships awarded and honors recognized include:

  1. William Jennings Bryan Award for Outstanding Honors Thesis
  2. Wendell Willkie Scholarships
  3. Walter H.C. Laves Award (SCUSA and NAFAC awards)
  4. Louis E. Lambert Scholarship
  5. Stephen R. Patton Scholarship
  6. The Ford P. Hall Scholarship
  7. Dr. J. Bryan Collester Scholarship

In addition, the department provides recognition of

  1. Political Science Honors Candidates
  2. Undergraduate Teaching Interns
  3. Pi Sigma Alpha Initiates
  4. Phi Beta Kappa Initiates

Applications are required for the following awards:

  1. Naval Academy Foreign Affairs Conference (NAFAC) in the spring of each year, in Annapolis, Maryland -- watch for emails announcing the competition in early January each year.
  2. Student Conference on US Affairs (SCUSA) held in November of each year at the US Military Academy at West Point -- Watch for emails announcing the competition in early October each year.

Pi Sigma Alpha – Political Science Honor Society
Pi Sigma Alpha was founded in 1920 for the purpose of bringing together students and faculty interested in the study of government and politics. The chapter at Indiana—Alpha Beta—was founded in 1937. At Indiana, eligibility for membership is: junior standing with a minimum 56 hours earned or in progress; 3.0 overall grade point average; 3.3 grade point average in major with at least 12 hours of political science courses. [Students with POLS GPA between 3.0 and 3.299 may petition with special circumstances.] Watch for fall and spring invitation to apply! Print the application form and submit it to the Dept of Political Science in Woodburn 210